Buy Tickets Shop Now Donate Today Auction

Jan. 23, 2014

ST. LOUIS—University of Pittsburgh senior forward Lamar Patterson (Lancaster, Pa./St. Benedict’s Prep, N.J.) was one of 23 players nationwide selected to the United States Basketball Writers Association Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List.

Presented annually since the 1958-59 season, the Oscar Robertson Trophy honors the national college basketball player of the year. It will be presented at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards banquet on April 14 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The USBWA also awards the Henry Iba National Coach of the Year and the Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year at the banquet. Members of the association’s board of directors chose the contenders for the watch list.

An ACC Player of the Year and All-ACC First Team candidate, Patterson leads the Panthers in both scoring (17.4 ppg.) and assists (87). He is shooting 50.9 percent (112-220) from the floor and 44.3 percent (39-88) from 3-point range. He has also accounted for 39 percent of Pitt’s field goals made. While leading Pitt in scoring 11 times on the year, he has registered one 30-point game, six 20-point games and 18 double figure scoring games (currently 17 consecutive) in 19 contests played. Patterson, who has scored 1,124 points, grabbed 502 rebounds and dished out 360 assists in his career, needs just 40 more assists to become the third player in school history to amass 1,000 points, 500 rebounds and 400 assists over a collegiate career. Against Clemson, he became the 19th player in school history to score 1,000 points and grab 500 rebounds in a career. He also is a two-time ACC Player of the Week honoree.

Patterson joins several former Pitt players as previous candidates for the award: Billy Knight (1973-74), Jerome Lane (1987-88), Charles Smith (1987-88), Brandin Knight (2001-02 and 2002-03), DeJuan Blair (2008-09) and Sam Young (2008-09).

Winners in five of its last six games, No. 20/19 Pitt (17-2, 5-1 ACC) gets back to action on Saturday night at Maryland. Tipoff is at 6 p.m. ET. on ESPN2. The Panthers then host No. 18 Duke on Monday, Jan. 27 at the Petersen Events Center. Tipoff is at 7 p.m. ET for an ESPN “Big Monday” broadcast.



Keith Appling, Michigan State

Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico

Cleanthony Early, Wichita State

Joel Embiid, Kansas

Tyler Ennis, Syracuse

C.J. Fair, Syracuse

Aaron Gordon, Arizona

Gary Harris, Michigan State

Rodney Hood, Duke

Nick Johnson, Arizona

DeAndre Kane, Iowa State

Doug McDermott, Creighton

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

Jabari Parker, Duke

Lamar Patterson, Pitt

Casey Prather, Florida

Julius Randall, Kentucky

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State

Russ Smith, Louisville

Xavier Thomas, San Diego State

Fred Van Vleet, Wichita State

Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Chaz, Williams, Massachusetts




Lamar Patterson Named to Oscar Robertson Award Watch List

Get Social


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago