Buy Tickets Shop Now Donate Today Auction
The Oakland Zoo is one of America's greatest college basketball cheering sections.

Feb. 12, 2013

PITTSBURGH (February 7, 2013) –The votes are in and the University of Pittsburgh’s Oakland Zoo has advanced to the semifinal round of the inaugural Naismith Student Section of the Year Award contest. Beginning with a total of 158 participating institutions, the contest now enters the semifinal round with only 16 institutions eligible to take home the top prize. As one of the top college basketball student sections in the country, the University is asking for fan support to help win the prestigious title. PITT fans will now have a say in determining the most deserving student section by voting for the Naismith Student Section of the Year Award.

How to Cast a Semifinal Round Vote

By visiting, PITT fans can vote for the OAKLAND ZOO as the top student section in college basketball. Semifinal round voting, which has been reset to zero for the 16 semifinalists, is open now through Feb. 22, 2013. Fans can vote once per day.

The top eight recipients from the semifinal round of public votes will be sent to the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors for a final vote. The Naismith Awards Board of Selectors will review criteria such as the student section’s name and attendance, the total fan vote, as well as photos, video, and a write-up submitted by the nominating school which will aid in determine the winning student section.  Complete details on the selection process can be found at

The winning student section gets bragging rights, while the winning institution will receive $10,000 to be used in its general scholarship fund.

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which is presented through a partnership of The Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), an affiliate of IMG College, and the Atlanta Tipoff Club, administrators of the Naismith Awards, is dedicated to celebrating fans that love college hoops and provide support to their college basketball team with devotion and passion.

Pitt’s Oakland Zoo has consistently been selected as one of the nation’s top-10 college basketball student cheering sections. In a 2010 ESPN The Magazine survey, Pitt’s Petersen Events Center was ranked as the nation’s No. 6 Loudest College Basketball Arena. In addition, Pitt was also rated as the nation’s No. 7 in college basketball’s Toughest Places to Play category by Bleacher Report in 2010. Because of the Oakland Zoo, Pitt has enjoyed one of the nation’s best homecourt advantages as the Panthers have compiled a 178-21 all-time record in the Petersen Events Center (.894).


About The Collegiate Licensing Company

CLC is a division of global sports and entertainment company IMG. Founded in 1981, CLC is the oldest and largest collegiate trademark licensing agency in the U.S. and currently represents nearly 200 colleges, universities, bowl games, athletic conferences, The Heisman Trophy and the NCAA. The mission of CLC is to be the guiding force in collegiate trademark licensing and one of the top sports licensing firms in the country. CLC is dedicated to being a center of excellence in providing licensing services of the highest quality to its member institutions, licensees, retailers and consumers. Headquartered in Atlanta (Ga.), CLC is a full-service licensing representative, which employs a staff of more than 80 licensing professionals who provide full-service capabilities in brand protection, brand management, and brand development. For more information on CLC, visit: or

About The Atlanta Tipoff Club
The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA’s Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969.  Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983.

The Naismith Award has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game.

Vote for the Oakland Zoo for Naismith Student Section of the Year Award

Get Social


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago