Go Panthers!
Go Panthers!
Schedule |  Coaches |  Roster |  Videos |  Photos |  News |  Archives
Men's Basketball to Open Maui Invitational vs. Chaminade




Aug. 6, 2014

ENTIRE BRACKET |  EA SPORTS MAUI INVITATIONAL WEBSITE |  TOURNAMENT BRACKET (pdf) |  MAUI RELEASE (pdf) | 

NASSAU, Bahamas--The University of Pittsburgh basketball team will open the Championship Bracket of the 2014 EA SPORTS Maui Invitational against Chaminade, ESPN and tournament officials announced on Wednesday morning. Tipoff is scheduled for 9 p.m. ET/4 p.m. Hawaii Time on Monday, Nov. 24 at the Lahaina Civic Center in Maui. The contest will be televised nationally on ESPNU. All three Maui Invitational games will be televised live on the ESPN family of networks.

In its second Maui Invitational game, Pitt will play either the winner or loser of the BYU-San Diego State contest on Tuesday, Nov. 25 at either 10 p.m. ET (if win) or 4:30 p.m. ET (if lose). Game three for Pitt is scheduled for Wednesday, Nov. 26. Opponent and tipoff time is TBA. Click here for the full EA SPORTS Maui Invitational bracket.

Pitt has never faced NCAA Division II Chaminade University. The Panthers have the luxury of playing an NCAA Division II program because Pitt will gain an extra game by playing a road contest at Hawaii. Due to NCAA rules, programs that schedule a road contest against a team in Hawaii are granted an additional game. The Panthers have never faced San Diego State. Pitt played BYU only one time, on Dec. 23, 1986. Other potential opponents in the Maui Invitational include Arizona, Kansas State, Missouri and Purdue.

Pitt will play a combined four games in Maui as it has also scheduled a Friday, Nov. 21 road game against the University of Hawaii at the Wailuku War Memorial Gym. Tipoff time for that contest will be released at a later date.


 

 

Travel packages and tickets are still available. For more information on tickets and travel packages, visit http://www.pittpantherssportstravel.com/ or call 877-211-9471.

Pitt will compete in its first-ever Maui Invitational. Pitt has traveled to the state of Hawaii three times in past years, making appearances in the Honolulu-based Rainbow Classic in 1986, 1990 and 1996. Rainbow Classic Most Valuable Player Curtis Aiken led the Panthers to consecutive wins over Kansas, Arkansas and Wisconsin in claiming the 1986 title. MVP Jason Matthews guided Pitt to wins over Alaska-Anchorage and Stetson in winning the 1990 title. In 1996, Pitt registered impressive wins over Maryland and Northwestern before dropping the title game to Michigan. Pitt is a successful 7-2 in nine all-time games played in the state of Hawaii.

Pitt's entire 2014-15 men's basketball schedule, tipoff times and television appearances will be announced in late August. Pitt's entire non-conference schedule was released on July 8 and its 2014-15 and 2015-16 ACC regular season opponents were announced on April 22.

The annual City Game, presented by GNC, will take place on Friday, Dec. 5 at the Consol Energy Center. For the first time, Pitt season ticketholders will receive City Game tickets as part of their season ticket package. For non-season ticketholders, City Game tickets will be sold through Ticketmaster on a predetermined date.

Since the Petersen Events Center opened in 2002-03, all 216 regular season games have been sold out. To join Pitt's season ticket waiting list, click this link: http://www.pittsburghpanthers.com/sports/m-baskbl/spec-rel/mbb-tix-waiting-list-form.html.

Pitt returns three starters and 11 letterwinners from a team that finished 26-10 overall and advanced to its 12th NCAA Tournament in the last 13 seasons. For more information and updated news on Pitt Basketball, follow @hailtopitthoops.

 

2014 MAUI INVITATIONAL MATCHUPS

Monday, Nov. 24, 2014

Game One: Purdue vs. Kansas State, 2:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. HT

Game Two: Missouri vs. Arizona, 5 p.m. ET/Noon HT

Game Three: PITT vs. Chaminade, 9 p.m. ET/4 p.m. HT

Game Four: BYU vs. San Diego State, 11:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. HT

 

Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2014

Game Five: Loser Game One vs. Loser Game Two, 2 p.m. ET/9 a.m. HT

Game Six: Loser Game Three vs. Loser Game Four, 4:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. HT

Game Seven: Winner Game One vs. Winner Game Two, 7:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. HT

Game Eight: Winner Game Three vs. Winner Game Four, 10 p.m. ET/5 p.m. HT

 

Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2014

Game Nine: Loser Game Five vs. Loser Game Six, 2:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. HT

Game 10: Winner Game Five vs. Winner Game Six, 5 p.m. ET/Noon HT

Game 11/Consolation: Loser Game Seven vs. Loser Game Eight, 7:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. HT

Game 12/Championship: Winner Game Seven vs. Winner Game Eight, 10 p.m. ET/5 p.m. HT

Note: All games played at Lahaina Civic Center, Maui, Hawaii; ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will combine to televise all 12 games.

 

PITT BASKETBALL ENTIRE GAME SCHEDULE IN HAWAII

Date

Opponent (TV)

Location

Time

Friday, Nov. 21

at Hawaii

Wailuku, Hawaii/War/Memorial Gym

TBA

Monday, Nov. 24

*Pitt vs. Chaminade (ESPNU)

Maui, Hawaii/Lahaina Civic Center

9 p.m. ET

Tuesday, Nov. 25

BYU or San Diego State (TBA)

Maui, Hawaii/Lahaina Civic Center

TBA

Wed., Nov. 26

*Game Three: TBA

Maui, Hawaii/Lahaina Civic Center

TBA

 *EA Sports Maui Invitational

 

--PITT--