Buy Tickets Shop Now Donate Today Auction
Tyler Boyd

Oct. 1, 2013


The Biletnikoff Award, presented to the nation's outstanding college receiver, announced today that Pitt freshman Tyler Boyd has been added to its list of 2013 candidates.

    The addition of Boyd (Clairton, Pa./Clairton) gives Pitt two contenders for this year’s Biletnikoff Award. Senior Devin Street (Bethlehem, Pa./Liberty) was on the initial watch list released during the summer. The duo ranks as the top receiving tandem in the Atlantic Coast Conference. Street leads the ACC in receiving yards per game (111.2 avg.) while Boyd ranks third (106.2 avg.).

    Only four games into his collegiate career, Boyd has established himself as one of the country’s most productive players regardless of class. He leads the ACC and ranks sixth nationally in all-purpose yards with an average of 175.2 per game. Boyd is fifth in the ACC in receptions (5.8 per game) and third in kick return average (22.2).

    In the Panthers’ 14-3 win over Virginia this past Saturday, Boyd had 111 yards on seven catches (15.9 avg.). (VIDEO LINK: See Boyd’s must-see catch against UVA.) It was his third consecutive 100-yard receiving game, making him one of only two Pitt freshmen to accomplish the feat. (Former Biletnikoff Award winner Antonio Bryant also had three straight 100-yard games as a Pitt freshman in 1999.)

    On the year, Boyd has totaled 23 catches for 425 yards (18.5 avg.) and four touchdowns. He additionally has 98 rushing yards on seven carries (14.0 avg.), including a 33-yard TD run.

    Pitt boasts a strong history with the Biletnikoff, which is presented by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation. Bryant was honored with the award in 2000, while Larry Fitzgerald was named the 2003 Biletnikoff winner. Additionally, Pitt wide receiver coach Bobby Engram was the inaugural recipient of the award in 1994 as a collegian at Penn State.

    The 2013 winner will be determined by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of more than 215 prominent college football journalists, commentators and former receivers. Additionally, an online fan vote counts as one official vote for semifinalists (ten receivers), finalists (three) and the winner. 

    This year’s Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced on Dec. 12 during the live ESPN telecast of The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

    Winners of three consecutive games, the Panthers (3-1, 2-1 ACC) have an open date this week before traveling to Virginia Tech (4-1, 1-0).


Tyler Boyd named candidate for prestigious Biletnikoff Award

Get Social


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago