Buy Tickets Shop Now Donate Today Auction
March 4, 2017

RALEIGH, N.C. – Three members of the Pitt wrestling team were crowned ACC champions Saturday at Reynolds Coliseum, helping the 23rd-ranked Panthers to a third-place finish at the 2017 ACC Championship.
Junior Dom Forys (133), redshirt freshman Taleb Rahmani (157) and sophomore TeShan Campbell (165) all earned individual titles and earned automatic qualifications to the 2017 NCAA Championships. Redshirt junior Ryan Solomon (285) earned a third-place finish while also qualifying for NCAAs.
“I was really happy with the overall performance of the team today,” said co-head coach Drew Headlee. “The ACC has become a powerhouse and to finish in third place as a team shows that we have a lot of heart. Capping the day off with three individual champions was awesome and I’m really looking forward to watching these guys compete in St. Louis.”
“The guys in the finals really fed off each other and I think that’s pretty great,” said co-head coach Matt Kocher. “They knew all three had to win to give us a chance to move past Virginia as a team and they pulled it off. I’m really happy for Taleb. He has come a long way since last year. He stepped into our lineup and qualified for nationals and he’s not done yet. Outside of the three champions, I’m really proud of the way we competed. Nick [Zanetta] avenged a loss to Duke and wrestled really well today. We’re looking forward to working on a few things over the next week and a half to get ready for NCAAs.”
Dom Forys / 133 Pounds
After receiving a first round bye, Forys picked up his first win of the day after defeating the No. 5 seed Dennis Gustafson of Virginia Tech, 8-4. With the win, Forys punched his third ticket to the NCAA Championships as the 133-pound weight class received two automatic qualifications.
In the championship bout, Forys had a rematch with NC State’s Jamal Morris whom he was 3-0 against prior to Saturday. Forys, a 2016 ACC runner-up, improved his record versus Morris to 4-0 after a decisive 5-0 decision en route to his first ACC title.
Taleb Rahmani / 157 Pounds
Making his first appearance at the ACC Championship, Rahmani picked up a 10-2 major decision over North Carolina’s AJ Rechenmacher. The win secured his trip to St. Louis, where he will also make his first appearance on the national stage.
In the semifinals, Rahmani had a rematch with NC State’s Thomas Bullard whom he previously lost to in sudden victory during the regular season. Rahmani used a reversal and takedown en route to the 4-2 decision over Bullard.
In the finals, Rahmani made a statement by picking up a 13-5 major decision over redshirt senior Sal Mastriani of Virginia Tech.
TeShan Campbell / 165 Pounds
Also receiving a first round bye, Campbell downed Virginia’s Ray Bethea in a 12-4 decision before claiming his first ACC title over NC State’s Brian Hamann, 7-0. With the title, Campbell will head to his second NCAA Championships, this time as an automatic qualifier.
Ryan Solomon / 285 Pounds
Solomon will make his third trip to the NCAA Championships after capturing third place. Solomon started the championship off strong as the No. 3 seed winning by technical fall, 17-1, in 4:44 over Virginia’s Tyler Love.
In the semifinals, Solomon faced Duke’s Jacob Kasper in a rematch of the thrilling regular season finale. After a 1-1 score at the end of the regulation, Kasper would escape in the tiebreaker, knocking Solomon off.
Moving to the consolation semifinals, Solomon moved back to the win column after recording a 2-0 decision over NC State’s Mike Kosoy.
The Milton, Pa., native secured his spot on the podium after posting a 5-3 decision over North Carolina’s Cory Daniel.
Team Scores
1. Virginia Tech, 93.0
2. NC State, 64.0
3. Pitt, 54.0
4. Virginia, 52.5
5. North Carolina, 44.0
6. Duke, 24.5

2017 All-ACC Wrestling Team
Joey Dance, Virginia Tech (125)
Sean Fausz, NC State (125)
Dom Forys, Pitt (133)
Jamal Morris, NC State (133)
Kevin Jack, NC State (141)
George DiCamillo, Virginia (141)
Solomon Chishko, Virginia Tech (149)
Troy Heilmann, North Carolina (149)
Sal Mastriani, Virginia Tech (157)
Taleb Rahmani, Pitt (157)
TeShan Campbell, Pitt (165)
Brian Hamann, NC State (165)
Ethan Ramos, North Carolina (174)
Zach Epperly, Virginia Tech (174)
Zack Zavatsky, Virginia Tech (184)
Michael Macchiavello, NC State (184)
Jared Haught, Virginia Tech (197)
Danny Chaid, North Carolina (197)
Ty Walz, Virginia Tech (285)
Jacob Kasper, Duke (285)
Three Panthers Earn Titles at ACC Wrestling Championship

Get Social


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago