Buy Tickets Shop Now Donate Today Auction

April 3, 2009



Pitt All-America senior guard Shavonte Zellous was honored as the 2008 Dapper Dan Sportswoman of the Year Thursday night at the charity's annual banquet. As a winner of the highest honors in Pittsburgh sports, Zellous joined Steelers' coach and Dapper Dan Sportsman of the Year, Mike Tomlin, and Steelers' defensive coordinator and Lifetime Achievement Award winner Dick LeBeau.

The award stayed in the Pitt women's basketball family as head coach Agnus Berenato won the prestigious award in 2005 and in 2007. The Sportswoman of the Year award has been given annually since 1999 and is presented by the Dapper Dan Charities, which benefits the youth sports and education programs of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Western Pennsylvania.

Zellous (Orlando, Fla./Jones) helped lead the Panthers to its first-ever Sweet 16 run in 2008 and has been a cornerstone of the Panthers' rise to national prominence. She has led Pitt in scoring over the past three seasons and hit the 2,000-point milestone, making her just the third player in Pitt history and just the 13th in storied Big East history to reach the mark.

In 2008, Zellous led Pitt to an improbable run through the NCAA Tournament including a win over No. 3 seed, and 12th-ranked Baylor to advance to the Sweet 16. In the round of 16, Zellous' outstanding performance merited a spot on the five-player Spokane All-Region team as the only player not advancing to the regional finals.

She followed up the 2007-08 season with more heroics this season as she again led the Panthers to the Sweet 16, as well as a school-record 25 wins. Zellous finished second in the Big East in scoring and is sixth in the country with a 22.4 points per game average. In NCAA Tournament action, she averaged 24.3 points and through two rounds, had scored more points than any player in the tournament.

With her 31 points against Montana in the first round, Zellous broke Jennifer Bruce's 24-year-old single-season points record at Pitt, which stood at 681 during that time. Zellous finished her senior season with 747 points, making her the first player in Pitt men's or women's history to score over 700 points in a season.

Also this season, Zellous became the first player in Pitt history (men's or women's) and just the ninth in Big East history (men's or women's) to score 600 points in three separate seasons. The unanimous selection to the All-Big East first team reached the 2,000-point milestone earlier this season, and scored the second 1,000 of her 2,000 points in just 49 games.

Following the regular season, Zellous was awarded with her third First Team All-Big East honor, making her the first in Pitt history to earn first team honors three times. For her efforts in the conference tournament, she was named to the 2009 Big East All-Tournament team.

In addition, Zellous turns her attention to the next level as she has been invited to attend the WNBA Draft on April 9, in Secaucus, N.J., at the NBA Entertainment studios.

The Dapper Dan is the city's oldest, largest and most prestigious sports banquet. The Dapper Dan Sportsman of the Year award was first presented in 1939. A complete list of winners is below.


Dapper Dan Sportswoman of the Year
1999 Suzie McConnell-Serio
2000 Dori Anderson
2001 Carol Semple Thompson
2002 Swin Cash
2003 Kelly Mazzante
2004 Lauryn Williams
2005 Agnus Berenato
2006 Swin Cash
2007 Agnus Berenato
2008 Shavonte Zellous

Dapper Dan Sportsman of the Year
1939 Billy Conn
1940 Fritzie Zivic
1941 Aldo T. "Buff" Donelli
1942 Bill Dudley
1943 Rip Sewell
1944 Frankie Frisch
1945 Billy Conn
1946 Bill Dudley
1947 Ralph Kiner
1948 Bill Meyer
1949 Ralph Kiner
1950 Joe Geri
1951 Murry Dickson
1952 L.P. "Red" Dawson
1953 Lew Worsham
1954 D.W. "Dudley" Moore
1955 John Michelosen
1956 Dale Long
1957 Dick Groat
1958 Danny Murtaugh
1959 Elroy Face
1960 Dick Groat and Arnold Palmer
1961 Roberto Clemente
1962 Lou Michaels
1963 John Michelosen
1964 Del Miller
1965 Vernon Law
1966 Roberto Clemente
1967 Aldege "Baz" Bastein
1968 Steve Blass and Dick Hoak
1969 John "Red" Manning
1970 Danny Murtaugh
1971 Danny Murtaugh, Roberto Clemente and Willie Stargell
1972 Chuck Noll
1973 Johnny Majors
1974 Joe Greene
1975 Terry Bradshaw
1976 Tony Dorsett
1977 Franco Harris
1978 Dave Parker
1979 Willie Stargell
1980 Hugh Green
1981 Jackie Sherrill
1982 Joe Paterno
1983 Dan Marino
1984 John Stallworth
1985 Louis Lipps
1986 Mario Lemiuex
1987 Syd Thrift
1988 Mario Lemieux
1989 Roger Kingdom
1990 Jim Leyland
1991 Bob Johnson
1992 Bill Cowher
1993 Jay Bell
1994 Bill Cowher
1995 Jaromir Jagr
1996 Kurt Angle
1997 Jerome Bettis
1998 Joe Paterno
1999 Mario Lemiuex
2000 Jason Kendall
2001 Kordell Stewart
2002 Ben Howland
2003 Larry Fitzgerald
2004 Ben Roethlisberger
2005 Jerome Bettis
2006 Sidney Crosby
2007 Sidney Crosby
2008 Mike Tomlin

Shavonte Zellous Honored As Dapper Dan Sportswoman of the Year

Get Social


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago