Buy Tickets Shop Now Donate Today Auction
May 18, 2017

PITTSBURGH – Pitt volleyball player Layne Van Buskirk was named to the 2017 Canadian Women’s National Team Roster, as announced Tuesday, May 16.
“We are thrilled that Layne will play with Team Canada this summer,” said Pitt head coach Dan Fisher. “This experience will give her the chance to become a better player and to learn a lot from older, veteran athletes. Representing her country is a huge honor and we are looking forward to following her journey.”
The Windsor, Ontario, native was one of 24 selected that will have the chance to compete at multiple events throughout the summer. Van Buskirk could potentially take part in the FIVB World Grand Prix, one of the premier international tournaments for women’s volleyball, which is set to take place at the Richmond Oval, in Richmond, British Columbia, Canada from July 21-23.
The team will also compete in the Pan Am Cup in Peru this June and the NORCECA Continental Championship in Trinidad in October. Team Canada will also train/play in Anaheim with the U.S. Women’s National Team from June 12-14. Rosters for specific events will be named at a later date.
Van Buskirk was outstanding in her debut season with Pitt, tallying a .345 hitting percentage, 247 kills and 76 blocks. Her clip ranked second on the team behind former Panther and fellow middle hitter Jenna Potts (.353) and sat at sixth overall in the ACC. Van Buskirk, who helped lead Pitt to its first NCAA Tournament Appearance since 2004 and first round win since 2003, was tabbed to the ACC All-Freshman Team at the conclusion of the season.
2017 Canadian Women’s National Team
Courtney Baker, Bridgewater, NS
Brianna Beamish, Surrey, BC
Marie-Alex Bélanger, Saint-Alphonse-Rodriguez, QC
Danielle Brisebois, Caledon, ON
Margaret Casault, Edmonton, AB
Lucille Charuk, Vancouver, BC
Alissa Coulter, Calgary, AB
Jennifer Cross, Scarborough, ON
Megan Cyr, St. Andrews, MB
Alina Dormann, Ottawa, ON
Anna Feore, Stratford, ON
Marisa Field, Kelowna, BC
Alexa Gray, Calgary, AB
Shae Harris, North Vancouver, BC
Shainah Joseph, Ottawa, ON
Aidan Lea, Kelowna, BC
Kristen Moncks, Standard, AB
Alicia Ogoms, Winnipeg, MB
Alicia Perrin, Creston, BC
Michaela Reesor, Caledon, ON
Kyla Richey, Roberts Creek, BC
Danielle Smith, Kelowna, BC/Beaverlodge, AB
Layne Van Buskirk, Windsor, ON
Elizabeth Wendel, Caronport, SK
Sarah Chase, Campbell River, BC
Nikki Cornwall, Coquitlam, BC
Alison McKay, Port Moody, BC
Head coach: Marcello Abbondanza
Assistant coaches: Vincenzo Mallia, Daniele Alpi, Gina Schmidt and Dan Huzar
Statistician: Darrin Moreira
Head Athletic Therapist: Morgan Sangster
Team Manager: Chrissy Benz
Van Buskirk Named to Canadian Women’s National Team Roster

Get Social


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago